The following players have been accepted into the 2018 Winnetka Challenger (Note that schedules may change for some players)

Winnetka Acceptance list

Tim Smyczek:

Screen Shot 2018-06-19 at 11.16.06 AM.png

Tim is an American player who is currently ranked 121 in the world.  He turned pro in 2006 and was our runner-up in both 2009 and 2010.  In 2017 he won the Charlottesville & Champaign Challengers, bringing him to 7 total Challenger titles.  We look forward to welcoming Tim back to Winnetka!

Bjorn Fratangelo:

Screen Shot 2018-06-19 at 11.16.23 AM.png

Bjorn is another American who won the 2011 boys singles title at the French Open.  He won the 2016 French Open Wild Card Challenge by reaching the semi-finals in Sarasota and then winning the Savannah Challenger the following week. He put the wild card to good use by beating Sam Querry in the 1st round to break into the Top 100 for the first time.  In 2017 he made it to the semis at the Newport Hall of Fame Open, losing to eventual winner John Isner.  He is currently ranked 123 in the world.

Ramkumar Ramanathan:

Screen Shot 2018-06-19 at 11.25.59 AM.png

We are excited to welcome our 2017 singles runner-up back to Winnetka!  Ramkumar was also the runner-up in Tallahassee in 2017 and Taipei in 2018. He qualified for the main draw in Cincinnati last year but lost in the second round to Jared Donaldson.  He is currently ranked 125 and is a member of the Indian Davis Cup team.

Tom Fawcett:

We are delighted to award a wild card into our main draw for Winnetka native Tom Fawcett.  Tom just graduated from Stanford, having played court 1 all four years. He was selected to the All PAC 12 First Team all four years and is a three time All American.  Tom has already earned a wild card entry into the qualifiers at the 2018 US Open.  Welcome home Tom!

Top 24 Acceptances:

Aragone, JC

Bachinger, Matthias

Baghdatis, Marcos

Broady, Liam

Diez, Steven

Escobedo, Ernesto

Eubanks, Chris

Fratangelo, Bjorn

Garin, Christian

Jung, Jason

King, Darian

King, Evan

King, Kevin

Klahn, Bradley

Krueger, Mitchell

Opelka, Reilly

Paul, Tommy

Ramanathan, Ramkumar

Robert, Stephane

Safwat, Mohamed

Sarkissian, Alexander

Sela, Dudi

Smyczek, Tim

Young, Donald




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s